Jena's Place for Paws


Jena Elder

About Us

My name is Jena Marino.

My name is Jena Marino and I am 30 years old. I have always had a love for animals and I have my parents to thank for that. They have always allowed me to have animals in my life.

I am originally from Virginia and have lived in North Carolina for 10 years now. In high school I worked in a pet store and in college I continued my love of animals by working for a vet in Cary, NC. After I graduated from PEACE College in Raleigh, I moved out to Charlotte with my husband and started trying to find work. Finding work in a tough economy had me down. I was taking jobs I didn’t love and felt it every day.

When we bought our first house, I started studying design. I love being creative and organized, so it seemed like a match. After piddling in home décor for a few years, I came back to my love of animals by getting a job at the local Huntersville Veterinary office. I loved this job, but it was missing one thing…me as boss. I have always known that I wanted to work for myself and have my own business; this path has finally led me to that.

Currently I live in Mooresville with my husband and my large pet family. I think you will find that Jena’s Place for Paws is a true representation of how I care for animals and strive for a close client relationship.

Mission Statement

Jena’s Place for Paws is your pet’s home away from home. We treat your pets like our own, striving to provide nothing less than a safe and clean environment for animals to stay and play.


Meet Diane Turner

dianeHello my name is Diane Turner I am 40 years young. My love of animals started as a child and continues to be a daily part of my life. I was born and raised in Charlotte NC on a local farm. Being raised on a farm has given me a great deal of hands on experience with many types of animals. Living on the farm was just the beginning when it came to animals, over the years I have taken many veterinary assistant classes and also have taken some obedience training classes for puppies and dogs.

Currently I live in Charlotte with my three kids, three dogs, two bunnies and one cat. As you can see I have a lot of love to share with your animals while they are staying at their home away from home at Jena’s Place for Paws. I am looking forward to meeting each of you and being a part of your animal’s life.